Create a free profile to get unlimited access to exclusive show news, updates, and more!
Kyle Busch Will Not Face NASCAR Penalty Over Conviction In Mexico
Kyle Busch apologized for illegally bringing a firearm to Mexico, where he faced serious legal peril. Now, he and NASCAR consider the issue closed.
Kyle Busch will not face any penalties from NASCAR over his recent legal trouble in Mexico, which saw him convicted for bringing a firearm into the country illegally.
A spokesperson for NASCAR told NBC Sports on Monday that Busch does not face any penalty or other disciplinary action for the incident, which took place on Jan. 27 at a terminal for private flights at Airport Cancun International. As a result, he will indeed compete at the Daytona 500 on Feb. 19.
In a further statement provided to Autoweek, a spokesperson noted that NASCAR has a Member Conduct policy but, upon review of the information, does not believe the incident violated that policy in a way the merits action.
RELATED: NASCAR Addresses Ross Chastain's Video Game-Style Wall Ride In Rule Modifications
Mexican authorities obtained a conviction in absentia and sentenced the two-time Cup Series winner to three years and six months of prison time as well as issued a fine of 20,784 pesos ($1,082) after officials at the airport discovered he had a .380-caliber gun in his bag along with six hollow point cartridges. In a statement posted to his social media, Busch called the incident a mistake, noting he has a “valid concealed carry permit” from his local authority. However, he admits he forgot to remove the firearm from his bag when he traveled to Mexico with his wife for a vacation.
“Discovery of the handgun led to my detainment while the situation was resolved. I was not aware of Mexican law and had no intention of bringing the handgun into Mexico,” he wrote. “When it was discovered, I fully cooperated with the authorities, accepted the penalties, and returned to North Carolina.”
It’s unclear how Busch settled or will settle the prison sentence in Mexico, but he is currently in the United States.
“I apologize for my mistake and appreciate the respect shown by all parties as we resolved the matter. My family and I consider this issue closed,” the driver concluded in his statement.
Since NASCAR has determined there’s no action required on its part, Busch raced this weekend in the NASCAR Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum in Los Angeles where he placed third behind fellow Richard Childress Racing teammate, Austin Dillon. He is expected to continue racing in the 2023 Cup Series, including the Daytona 500, unobstructed by the incident in Mexico.
Catch up on the lives of Busch and other NASCAR drivers on “Race For The Championship” on Peacock now.
USA Insider is your source for all things USA, from behind-the-scenes access to breaking news, information about USA’s original shows, and much more. Sign up for USA Insider and be the first to get extras and updates on your favorite shows.