Main Content

Saturday Night Live
Saturday Night Live
Saturday Night Live
SATURDAYS | 11:30ET 10:30CT 9:30MT 8:30PT

About the Show

TV-14 1 hr 8 min 

About the Show

NBC’s Emmy Award-winning late-night comedy showcase “Saturday Night Live” recently completed its 47th season in another year of laughs, surprises and standout performances.

“SNL” has won 86 Emmy Awards (not including additional awards for its specials and digital series), the most for any show in television history. The series also holds the title for the most Emmy-nominated show in history. “SNL” has been honored twice, in 1990 and 2009, with the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award and was inducted into the Broadcasting Hall of Fame. The show continues to garner the highest ratings and largest audience of any late-night television program, entertaining millions each week on linear and digital platforms.

Since its inception in 1975, “SNL” has launched the careers of many of the brightest comedy performers of their generation. “SNL” makes headlines with topical humor reflecting politics and current events, features an array of characters with a perspective on pop culture that remains unparalleled, and offers sharp political commentary through its signature “Weekend Update” segment. A variety show that is truly one of a kind, “SNL” also attracts the biggest stars of music to its stage for innovative viral performances.

“Saturday Night Live,” which premiered Oct. 11, 1975, broadcasts live from NBC’s famed Studio 8H in New York City’s Rockefeller Center. The program is a production of Broadway Video in association with SNL Studios. Lorne Michaels is the executive producer.

Episodes available for purchase.


Day & time:
Saturdays on NBC and Peacock (Live 11:30 p.m.-1 a.m. ET); "SNL Encores" (10-11 p.m. ET)

Series Premiere:
Oct. 11, 1975

Season 47 Premiere:
Oct. 2, 2021

Starring the SNL 2020-2021 Company
Aristotle Athari, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Mikey Day, Andrew Dismukes, Chloe Fineman, Heidi Gardner, James Austin Johnson, Punkie Johnson , Colin Jost, Kate McKinnon, Alex Moffat, Kyle Mooney, Ego Nwodim, Chris Redd, Sarah Sherman, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Melissa Villaseñor, Bowen Yang

Executive Producer
Lorne Michaels

Produced By
Steve Higgins and Erik Kenward

Liz Patrick

Head Writers
Michael Che, Colin Jost, Kent Sublette, Streeter Seidell, Alison Gates

Lindsay Shookus, Erin Doyle, Tom Broecker, Caroline Maroney

Senior Writer
Bryan Tucker

Dan Bulla, Mike DiCenzo, Billy Domineau, Alex English, Martin Herlihy, John Higgins, Steve Higgins, Vannessa Jackson, Erik Kenward, Tesha Kondrat, Ben Marshall, Lorne Michaels, Jake Nordwind, Ben Silva, Will Stephen, Celeste Yim

Weekend Update Produced By:
Dennis McNicholas

Weekend Update Head Writer:
Pete Schultz

Weekend Update Written By:
Megan Callahan-Shah
Dennis McNicholas
Josh Patten
Mark Steinbach

Supervising producer:
Javier Winnik

Film Producer
Dina Moles

Musical Directors
Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis, Eli Brueggmann

The Saturday Night Live Band

Production Designers
Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, Keith Ian Raywood, N. Joseph DeTullio

Costume Designers
Tom Broecker, Eric Justian

Darrell Hammond

Produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video

NBC Studio 8H in Rockefeller Center

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our cookie policy.